Full Menu and site Navigation
Central Virginia

Central Virginia INCOSE Chapter History

The establishment of an INCOSE chapter in the Fredericksburg area was initiated by the Systems Engineering Focus Team (SEFT) at the Naval Surface Warfare Center Dahlgren Division (NSWCDD). Two members of the SEFT, Dr. Harry Crisp and Mr. Angel Martinez, took the lead in initiating activities associated with forming a chapter. Plans were made for an initial meeting, and meeting announcements were distributed. An exploratory meeting was held on 6 October 1997 at the Central Rappahannock Regional Library theater. At the meeting Dr. Crisp, one of the INCOSE Region V Directors, gave an overview of the INCOSE organization and the benefits derived from membership. He then explained that the process by which a chapter is established consists of three stages:

  • First, an application for emerging chapter status is submitted and accepted.
  • Second, officers are agreed-upon to serve as an interim chapter organizing group.
  • Third, full chapter status is attained by gaining at least 25 official members, and by establishing a set of by-laws, and by nominating and electing officers.

A volunteer group (the "Core Group"), was organized to continue the process from the first to the second stage. The members of the Core Group and their responsibilities were:

  • Identification of Interim Officers - Mr. Steve Howell (with help from the rest of the volunteer group).
  • Meetings Planning - Dr. Ron Pollard and Mr. David McConnell.
  • Publicity and Communications - Mr. Meade Corder and Mr. Angel Martinez.
  • Membership - Dr. Mike Stumborg.
  • Strategic Planning - Mr. Laurence Thayer, Ms. Joyce Greeley, and Dr. Harry Crisp.

Twenty-seven individuals participated in the initial meeting. Twelve individuals who participated and who were not INCOSE members indicated a desire to become members and participate in the chapter. Seven completed applications at the meeting. This resulted in a total of 13 individuals committed to the chapter effort.

The Core Group chose the following individuals as Central Virginia Area INCOSE Interim Officers:

President:                Mr. David McConnell.
Vice-President:        Mr. Don Baxter.
Secretary:                Mr. Angel Martinez.
Treasurer:                Mr. Meade Corder.

Interim Committee Chairs:

Communications:     Mr. Angel Martinez.
By-Laws:                  Mr. Laurence Thayer.
Program:                  Dr. Ron Pollard (supported by Mr. David McConnell).
Membership:            Dr. Mike Stumborg.
Nominating:             Mr. Steve Howell (supported by Dr. Harry Crisp and Dr. Ron Pollard).

After they had been selected, the Startup Chapter officers took over from the Core Group in planning subsequent chapter meetings and continuing the chapter formation process. Mr. Larry Thayer prepared a draft constitution that was reviewed and adopted after having some updates made. Dr. Ron Pollard and Mr. David McConnell arranged for speakers for the follow-on meetings. Dr. Harry Crisp nominated the candidate slate of officers developed by the Nominating Committee, and the list was duly seconded. Ballots were prepared and distributed with a closing date of 11 March 1998, at which time the nominated slate of officers was unanimously elected. The initial officers for the Central Virginia INCOSE Chapter were:

President (1 Yr)            Mr.David McConnell
Vice-President (2 Yr)   Mr. Don Baxter
Treasurer (2 Yr)           Mr. Alan Brown
Secretary (1 Yr)           Dr. Bruce Carruthers
Director (1 Yr)              Dr. Ron Pollard
Director (2 Yr)              Mr. Steve Howell

The installation of officers took place at the regularly scheduled meeting on 9 April 1998. Mr. Ken Ptack, INCOSE National president-elect, installed the elected officers and reviewed with them their responsibilities. Dr. Tom Clare, Executive Director for the Naval Surface Warfare Center, Dahlgren Division, gave the installation meeting talk.

Original content prepared by David McConnell and Bruce Carruthers,
Minor formatting for website by Alan Brown, 8/28/2017